I was down, but certainly not out

Pino's Prime Meats on Sullivan Street

Pino's Prime Meats on Sullivan Street

It was touch and go for a while on this veal knuckle situation. I contacted over 35 butcher shops in Manhattan, almost having to extend my search to the Bronx or Queens. I was able to procure the veal knuckles from Pino’s Prime Meats on Sullivan St. The owner was kind, understanding and even held the knuckle for me, hassle free, while I ran over to claim my magic bones! Allez!

Even though I had this victory it delayed my entire process by nearly 2 days, I am not certain how I will recover. I will have a better idea once I get home from work tomorrow and begin the cooking tasks for what I can start ahead. It will be one of those down to the wire sort of things. Normally I have a large amount of bravado in the kitchen. But the faith in myself is wavering.

Pino the Butcher that rocked my world

Pino the Butcher that rocked my world

I have become more and more intimidated the more I study Julia’s recipes. If it were one or two courses this would be a cake walk. I couldn’t in all honesty tell you why we settled on six courses. But I wouldn’t doubt if I start crying somewhere around 4pm on Friday, set your watches and bring the popcorn.

Hear my triumphant voice post just after leaving the shop
http://soundcloud.com/allicette/elation/download

One thought on “I was down, but certainly not out

  1. Pingback: Our Be Like Julie: Cook From Julia contest winner! « Knopf Doubleday - Cooking

Leave a Reply

